top of page

Bodacious & Sundry #4: Virtual FantasyCon Panels

Virtual FantasyCon Panels

Yesterday we recorded the two panels I’m on, Cogs & Wheels and The Future of Publishing. They were a lot of fun to do and I enjoyed getting to know my fellow authors better. Cogs & Wheels covers what steampunk is all about, including its origins, the aesthetic, and books to read. The Future of Publishing covers how much the publishing landscape has changed in the last few decades, from all traditional to the big houses having less and less market share as independent publishing booms. My son, Clark, stole the show during Cogs & Wheels, so I think people may want to watch that one twice, once for the content, and once to see Clark’s funny antics. I said at the end that if the video goes viral, he’s to thank!

Cogs & Wheels Panel

The other authors on my panels were Jeffrey Cook, Michelle Cornwell-Jordan, and Andrea Stafford Hintz for Cogs & Wheels, and Michelle Cornwell-Jordan, Rachel (RS) McCoy, Simon Oneill, and Jamie White for The Future of Publishing.

For this blog, I’ve interviewed steampunk makers and cosplayers, and I plan to interview writer and other artists, too, so you can look forward to me interviewing some of my fellow panelists!

Virtual FantasyCon (VFC) is entirely Facebook based, so you don’t have to go anywhere further than your own computer, tablet, or smartphone to participate! Share your cosplay, join the scavenger hunt, and get to know the various guest writers via our virtual booths.

VFC runs from November 1 November 8. My author booth will be on the Steampunk Saturday page on November 7, and the podcasts of our panels will also air that day. Remember to drop by with a hello and any questions!

I will continue to share information about the convention with all of you, especially during the event.

Check out the trailer video!

The Obstructed Engine

"The Obstructed Engine" Cover

My first Creedverse story, The Obstructed Engine, is finished! My beta readers did a great job of finding my typos and making some excellent suggestions, so a big thanks goes out to them.

The story features two important characters from my upcoming novel, Bodacious Creed: a Steampunk Zombie Western. Anna Lynn Boyd and Jonathan Johns play crucial roles in the book, and are the focus of The Obstructed Engine, which also introduces some of the core ideas that make this milieu what it is.

It takes place in a very fictionalized Santa Cruz, California in 1876. I was born and grew up in Santa Cruz. I wanted to create a version of the small city that is geographically, at least, a reflection of modern day Santa Cruz than. This is a homage to my home town. I hope residents there will read the stories and book and say, “I know where that is!”

To get your digital copy of this tale, all you have to do is sign up for my newsletter in the lightbox or the form below! If you’d like a little more information first, visit the subscription page. The Obstructed Engine is actually the second freebie I’ve shared with newsletter subscribers. Right now, new subscribers will get a link to it first, and three days later, a link to my short fantasy anthology, Legends of Years Gone By.

Feel free to drop me a line from my contact page or via my email address, which you'll have if you subscribe, to let me know what you think. As always, feel free to leave comments below!

Featured Posts
Jonathan's Books
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Pinterest App Icon
bottom of page