top of page

Steampunk Maker Spotlight: an Interview with Tayliss Forge, Part 2

Learning More about Tayliss Forge

I have a specific procedure for conducting blog interviews. I have a large list of generic questions for creative people in many areas, from acting to music. I simply go through it and let the questions inspire me. Sometimes I come up with completely new questions. Sometimes I modify them to make them specific to the person.

A funny thing happened when I sent Tayliss Forge her questions. I sent an early draft where I had only a few of the questions specifically for her, and she got the entire list of sample questions! (This was embarrassing for me because that sample list has some very personal questions. She rightly deleted those.) So, we talked about it and came to an agreement. I would send her the questions I had intended for her, post those as the first of a three part interview, and use the other answers for parts two and three. I mean, she put a lot of time into answering these extra questions, all the more reason to share them with fans.

The images in this interview are by Tayliss’s friend and regular photographer, Simply Colorful, who does some amazing shoots of Tayliss and other models. Feel free to click on the name to visit his Facebook page. The only pictures not by Simply Colorful is that of Tayliss and the Krampus, and the choker.

So, here is Part 2 of 3 in my epic Tayliss Forge interview. Note that I may modify the questions slightly for clarity and specificity without changing meaning. (You can read Part 1 here.)

The Interview

Tayliss Forge and Krampus

Jonathan Fesmire: What do you like most about costuming?

Tayliss Forge: The thing I like most about costuming is the ability to customize items specifically for a customer. That’s not something you can do in modern fashion. You go to a store and have a limited selection of styles, colors, and sizes. I can work with a client to find something that fits their personality and style.

JF: What do you like least?

TF: While I enjoy making things for other people, sometimes I’m so busy working on other people’s pieces that I don’t have time to make my own. I like to have new products and costumes, but it’s sometimes impossible.

JF: How long have you been creating costumes and costume pieces?

TF: I’ve been making jewelry and accessories for about six years and have been making costumes and props for five years. The first two years I hand sewed my costumes and now with a sewing machine I can work much faster. I’ve been doing 3D modeling for metal 3D printed jewelry for a little over a year.

JF: Should your parents have been more or less strict?

TF: I believe my parents were a little too strict on me. I don’t really think it was their fault sheltering me, but it did hinder some of my creative growth. My mom has been supportive of my costuming and she’s normally who I go to for advice when I’m stuck. She has no sewing or costuming experience, but she has a good eye for what looks best. My dad has helped me with designing my business cards, logo, and anything else that requires printing or graphic design. My parents don’t always understand what I do, but they help with what they can.

JF: No parents are perfect, but overall it’s great that yours are so supportive. How was your childhood?

TF: I had a relatively normal childhood. I was somewhat sheltered as I mentioned before, but nothing too limiting. I got straight A’s all through school. I have been playing video games as long as I can remember and that’s why I got along better with boys my age better than girls. I was introduced to anime through Sailor Moon through a Japanese friend. Even though I didn’t understand any of it (it wasn’t English dubbed), I was completely fascinated with it. I was made fun of a lot growing up because of being overweight at the time and that I didn’t like “girly” things. I grew to have a low self-esteem, but all those experiences helped me grow as a person. I learned to think about other people first and treat others like equals even when they kick you down.

JF: I understand how feeling like an outcast can, in time, lead a person to develop inner strength. So, are you happy now?

TF: I’m relatively happy and do what I can to make sure I stay happy. I do suffer from depression and anxiety which makes it difficult sometimes to get the motivation to do even the things I love.

JF: If you could go back in time, what would you do differently?

TF: I wouldn’t change a thing. All the embarrassing moments, the pain, the tears, these are all things that make me who I am today. I may regret doing certain things, but I wouldn’t want to ruin what I have now.

JF: Here’s a good question, I think, for any steampunk. If you hadn’t been born in this century (well, late last century), when and where would you like to have lived?

TF: I would have loved to live in the Edwardian Era in London. As much as I would like to live during the Victorian Era, I’d prefer to live in a time when toilet paper existed (wasn’t invented till the 1880’s). The fashion was gorgeous at the time and I would love to see how they made everything in person without all the technology we have today.

JF: Who are your heroes?

TF: I always get asked this question, and I can never some up with a good answer. I think I’m inspired most by what people do most. I like seeing the change that people make in other people and the world. Big changes are not always made by just one person. There has to be a willingness from the people to change in order for the world to change. So I cannot simply say that there are one or two people that have become my hero.

JF: I think respect is something people need to earn. Whom do you have no respect for?

TF: I have no respect for people who put others down for perusing artistic venues.

JF: What do you do in your spare time?

TF: In my spare time I sing, sleep, play video games, sleep, DnD, sleep, make crafts, see movies, and sleep…definitely sleep.

JF: How has America changed in the past ten years?

TF: I think the obsession with political correctness has gotten out of hand since I can remember. I’m glad that more groups of people are getting better rights, more respect, and better care. The problem is that we try so hard to make sure no one is offended that a few words can blow up to huge and unnecessary proportions.

JF: I completely agree! There is no “right to not be offended,” because such a right would violate free speech. So, how have you changed?

TF: I had major self-esteem issues growing up. In recent years, especially this year, I’ve been doing better and learning to like me better. I’ve also learned to find humor in negative comments about my work.

JF: What’s the side of you that the public never sees?

TF: I think a lot of people assume that I “only do steampunk” and that I have this magical life where I can make costumes whenever I want. I have a lot of knowledge about steampunk and even wrote papers on it in college, but I geek out most over science fiction and fantasy works. I attend school full time and have been paying for it out of pocket for years. I worked retail and birthday parties and while I disliked doing it, I did what I could so I can do what I love now. I saved up so I can have the materials and tools I need. I taught myself the knowledge that I have. I’ve put blood, sweat, and tears (TEARS, LOTS OF TEARS) into every costume I produce. It’s not magical, it’s strenuous work. People don’t see the work I put into my daily life.

JF: I have to admit, I thought that you only did steampunk at first as well, but you are very versatile. Well, let’s end this part here, so we have some left for Part 3. Is there anything you’d like to say to readers?

TF: Thanks for the interview! If any readers live near Fullerton, I'll be judging the costume contest for the Geek Meet on December 20th. More details through Club Cosplay.

Update

Coming Soon

I’ve said it several times already: NaNoWriMo kept me extremely busy! It was crazy, but so incredibly fun getting through at last big chunk of Bodacious Creed: a Steampunk Zombie Western. Now that the first draft is finished, I’m considering ideas for some new Creedverse short stories, planning on doing some new episodes for The Mostly Steampunk Podcast, and getting more blog entries up. Oh, I also did this painting!

You may recognize that this as my Bodacious Creed image. I think it’s becoming somewhat iconic at this point. You’ll be able to see it regularly in the background of the podcast. I’m thinking about doing a few more as well, perhaps one of Anna Boyd, and perhaps one of El Tiburon, all of them for my steampunk bookshelf corner.

Incidentally, I was inspired to create a word cloud from the text of the novel, and I like how it turned out.

You don’t have to wait for me to publish Bodacious Creed to visit the Creedverse! Read the first prequel story, The Obstructed Engine, for free when you subscribeto my newsletter below or on the subscription page. You can also follow me on Twitter (link below) for frequent steampunk news, writing tips, or just to connect. If you have any comments on this interview, please share them below!

Featured Posts
Jonathan's Books
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Pinterest App Icon
bottom of page