top of page

Steampunk Maker Spotlight: an Interview with Tayliss Forge, Part 3

Finishing Up the Conversation

I mentioned in Part 2 of Tayliss's interview that due to a mix-up, she had answered a ton of questions I didn't mean to send. The upshot is that I got to learn a lot more about this creative young woman, her art, and how she thinks. Here's the final part of the resulting interview, which I hope you will all enjoy.

The photographs of Tayliss in this interview were taken by Simply Colorful.

Also, remember to check out Part 1 and Part 2.

The Interview

Jonathan Fesmire: You’ve become more of a public personality since Steampunk’d. Do you wish you had more privacy?

Tayliss Forge: Since I’ve done pretty well to make sure my private and personal life are separate, I can just turn off my laptop and have all the privacy I need.

JF: Do you think the public and critics expect too much from you?

TF: At times, yes. Whenever people tell me I should do or change something, I tell people that I’m not doing what I love for other people, I’m doing it for ME.

JF: I agree that’s the best reason to do what you love. How hard do you push yourself?

TF: I push myself pretty hard. I’ve spent plenty of all-nighters trying to get work done even though I should be sleeping. Sometimes I even forget to eat!

JF: Are you ever completely satisfied with your work?

TF: I think art always has room for improvement. I’m not always satisfied with a product because I’m a perfectionist, but if the customer likes it than that’s all that matters!

JF: To what do you attribute your success?

TF: I think I’ve done well for myself thus far because I don’t let other people’s unasked for opinions to sway my artwork. People have a hard time separating their own ideas with what the rest of the world has for them.

JF: Do you believe there’s still a battle of the sexes?

TF: No matter what people say or do, the battle will remain. Stereotypes don’t go away and there is never a “perfect” equality.

JF: How do you think times are changing? I mean, steampunk is quite romantic. Are we returning to a more romantic time?

TF: Quite the opposite. I think that people are getting into the mindset that we don’t have to treat each other with romance and respect in order to get what we want.

JF: How do you think your profession would be different if you were a man? [endif]

TF: I think people would respect me more as a leatherworker, but I’m not sure I would be making corsets and dresses. Since I began with making clothing for myself, I believe I have a wider variety of male attire made if I were male.

JF: What’s the most unbelievable rumor every printed about you?

TF: People keep calling me a celebrity in print. Stop calling me that! Lol

JF: What was the most important day of your life?

TF: The most important day of my life was meeting my photographer Simply Colorful. I would be absolutely no where without him. We do great work together and for that I will be forever grateful.

JF: He certainly has helped share you with the world. Do you worry whether people like you for the real you, or for your growing fame?

TF: I don’t worry about that for my real friends. Those are the only people that matter to me whether that’s true or not. Other people may like me for my online persona, but most of my friends were there for the whole ride from nobody to “somebody.” Others had no idea who I was until I told them (it feels like revealing I have super powers lol).

JF: Do you find it easy to make friends?

TF: No, not at all. I’m an introvert when I’m not in costume. I pretty much act like a cat and I’m hesitant to become friends with people. I’ve been getting better over the years, but I still have very few close friends that I hang out with regularly.

JF: I think I know what your answer to this will be, since you’re an introvert, but do you prefer a night on the town or staying in with someone special?

TF: I like spending time with someone special. I don’t do very well in group situations with people I don’t know.

JF: Aside from this interview, what’s the stupidest thing you’ve ever agreed to do?

TF: Dang it! You took my answer.

JF: You’re welcome, haha.

TF: I think the stupidest thing I have agreed to do was to help someone out with their steampunk web series. They ended up breaking a lot of my costuming work and never received payment for my time.

JF: And finally, if you could be any animal, what animal would you be?

TF: Cat! I get to eat and sleep whenever I want!

JF: Thanks again for doing this interview, and for telling us so much about yourself!

Tayliss Online

Visit Tayliss on her Facebook page, and help support her by checking out her Etsy shop for some lovely jewelry and costume pieces.

Update

More Steampunk

While you're here, if you want more steampunk, sign up for my mailing list. You'll immediately get to download my story The Obstructed Engine, which is a prequel to my upcoming novel, Bodacious Creed: a Steampunk Zombie Western. Three days later, you'll get a link to my fantasy short story collection, Legends of Years Gone By. Whenever I write a Creedverse story, my mailing list subscribers will get to read it first, and for free.

You can also follow me on Twitter and subscribe to my YouTube channel via the links below.

As always, feel free to leave a comment!

Featured Posts
Jonathan's Books
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Pinterest App Icon
bottom of page