top of page

McCall's Steampunk Cosplay Update

Christmas

First, I hope everyone had a fantastic Christmas! (No worries, we'll get to McCall's in just a few paragraphs!) Everyone who celebrates it, anyway, and I hope the rest of you had a wonderful time on your respective holidays, or that you have just had a great December.

Here, it was just my son and me, and we had a lovely day. I got him a Lego Kwik-E-Mart set. My 7-year-old woke up at 7:00 am and opened that before anything else, and immediately started to work on it. He worked from 7:00 in the morning to 11:00 at night on it! (It's a big set with over 2,000 pieces.) He worked on it more yesterday, and finished it today. Here's a photo he took.

Yesteday we played his new Star Wars Disney Infinity on the Xbox, also a lot of fun. We're both really in the spirt of Star Wars since seeing The Force Awakens.

Steampunk Cosplay

Eight months ago, on April 28, I wrote a blog entry about how McCall’s, the sewing pattern company, had just launched site for their best cosplay patterns. This is a follow-up, as McCall’s has really expanded their line.

The site has many patterns that already have a steampunk flare, and others that can easily be adapted to our favorite genre. Yes, as a writer of steampunk wild west fiction, I’m partial to outfits like these.

Or, you might enjoy these for more of a general Victorian era feel from The Vault Collection.

Here are a couple lovely costumes from YaYa Han patterns.

I have no doubt that an enterprising cosplayer could come up with a superhero/steampunk blend using these body suits.

As we all know, corsets go great with steampunk.

There is so much more on the site. I’m looking through it as I write this and am impressed with how much it has expanded. I’d love to do some cosplay again someday, and when I do, I’ll certainly look here.

I’ve mentioned in several places that I’d like to do a Bodacious Creed cosplay at some point. He’s the main character of my upcoming novel, Bodacious Creed: a Steampunk Zombie Western. The cowboy/gunslinger outfit above looks like a great starting point. (FYI: My prequel story to the novel, The Obstructed Engine, is free when you subscribe to my newsletter.) I’m not sure how I’ll do the mask. I was thinking of 3D printing it in parts, but I will probably ask my steampunk costuming and maker friends what they would do, because I have a feeling there’s a better way. However, 3D printed accessories? I will probably do some of those.

Anyway, check out the Cosplay by McCall’s site if you’re looking for a good steampunk costume pattern or even if you are just looking for some inspiration.

What do you think of these patterns? Will you find them useful? Feel free to comment below.

Featured Posts
Jonathan's Books
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Pinterest App Icon
bottom of page