top of page

Bodacious & Sundry #13: The Incredible Edwardian Ball in Hollywood

Bodacious

I’ve got amazing news. On February 27, I’ll be attending the 7th Annual Edwardian Ball in Hollywood! Better yet, I was invited to this event as a steampunk author, interviewer, and chronicler. I must say, I did not see this sort of invitation coming so soon, but I have been chronicling steampunk for nearly a year and have made this my path as a blogger and author, so I am imensely pleased and flattered.

Now in its sixteenth year, the first Edwardian Ball took place in San Francisco in 2000. It is a celebration of the art of Edward Gorey. While it is not strictly steampunk, Edwardian, Neo-Victorian, steampunk, macabre, masquerade, and Gothic aesthetics are all welcome additions to cosplay.

The SF Bay Guardian calls The Edwardian Ball a “Gothic, ghoulish and glorious celebration.” This multi-city, multi-media sensation has grown since 2000 from an underground club party into an internationally recognized arts festival. Attendies come from the world over, operating with the blessing of The Edward Gorey Charitable Trust. The San Francisco Edwardian Ball just celebrated it’s 16th Anniversary with a two night festival celebration on January 22 and 23, 2016 at the historic Regency Center. The 7th Annual Edwardian Ball takes place, one night only, on February 27.

This year, the Edward Gorey performance is an operatic version of “The Stupid Joke” is produced by Rosin Coven and Dark Garden Corsetry.

Whimsy, camp, and surealism combine to make this two-day event a true celebration of the life, art, and tales of macabre cult author, comic artist, illustrator, and cartoonist Edward Gorey.

In short, it combines many things that I absolutely love, and I bet most of you do as well!

SFWeekly describes the Edwardian Ball as, “Think Vintage Fetish meets circus theatrics meets industrial arts mayhem.” Guests enjoy live music, theater, cosplay, fashion, circus performances, fine art, stage shows, black comedy, science fiction, literature, ballroom dancing, and DJs at this lavish extravanza celebrating a Neo-Victorian and Edwardian-era gothic and steampunk-tinged past.

Want to buy some whimsical art and other fantstical items? Visit the vendor bazaar and photo booth. Experience mystical and nonsensical oddities, absinthe cocktails, steam machinery, parlour games, alluring sideshows, and much more.

Remember, the ball will take place at the Fonda Theater in Los Angeles from 8:00 pm to 2:00 am on the evening of Saturday, February 27.

I must mention this. The event is for all ages! So bring your Edwardians-in-training. My son will be attending with me.

So come in your Neo-Victorian, Edwardian, steampunk, masquerade, macabre, and gothic best.

What’s it like to attend? Check out this video from a recent Edwardian Ball!

Tickets will go up as the event draws closer, so visit the website for current pricing. Also, event organizers have projected that the event will sell out soon. Now’s the best time to reserve your spot. If you go, feel free to say hello if you see me around.

For additional info about the Edwardian Ball, and how it came to be, please refer the Rosin Coven Wikipedia page. Justin Katz is the bassist of Rosin Coven. More info about Rosin Coven can be found on the Rosin Coven website.

It's going to be phenominal.

New (February 19, 2016)

I have now interviewed Justin Katz of Rosin Coven and co-founder of the ball! So, check out my latest post, Interview with Justin Katz of The Edwardian Ball.

Sundry

I’m going to keep everyone posted on the event as it draws closer, so keep an eye on this blog. To make it easier, subscribe to The Mostly Steampunk Newsletter. You’ll get an announcement every time I post a new entry, and you’ll get free short stories, including The Obstructed Engine, a prequel to my upcoming novel, Bodacious Creed: a Steampunk Zombie Western.

Speaking of Bodacious Creed, it’s been six years today since I started this blog! It began as an ongoing record of my master’s thesis, a 3D modeling reel, and has changed over the years into The Mostly Steampunk Blog, where I continue to update people about Bodacious Creed and the Creedverse as well as interview prominent people in the steampunk community and share other related news.

Still, six years! Here's the very first entry, back when the blog was on Blogspot: The What and The Why.

Oh, one more thing! As I'm a steampunk author, and haven't been able to attend an event or convention in more than six years, I have no appropriate attire. I'll be putting together appropriate outfits for my son and me, so we'll fit right in at the ball. However, this will set me back and I may have to push out some bills.

In case anyone would like to help out, I've started a GoFundMe campaign. I've already ordered a long coat (from China, and I hope it will arrive on time, but anyway...), and when I next get paid plan to get more. Essentially, you would be helping me to go forward in my career as an author and steampunk blogger.

Also, you'll get to read the first two or three chapters of Bodacious Creed before it comes out, whether you've subscribed to the newsletter or not. That's something I'm not even offering my newsletter subscribers. Here's your chance to spend a few bucks and get a sneak peak.

Featured Posts
Jonathan's Books
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Pinterest App Icon
bottom of page