top of page

Bodacious & Sundry #15: Post-Edwardian Ball News

Bodacious

The Edwardian Ball was so amazing!

I have to say, the event was exactly what I hoped it would be. I love getting together with fellow geeks, steampunks, and the like. At this sold-out event, everyone was in costume for socializing, dancing, and some drinking. Before you think this was like a club scene, though, let me say that it was so much more.

On the first floor: Photographs in the foyer, a bar, a large dance and viewing floor, and the stage. On the second, a lounge, photography booth, and wonderful Edwardian clowns. On the large open-air balcony, DJs, games, and several vendors selling pocket watches, art, jewelry, and the coolest glasses from My Willows. (I plan to get a pair of the frames for my next prescription.) On the indoor balcony, seating for those who paid for VP tickets, but a comfortable place to stand and railing to lean on for those who did not, and an excellent view of the stage.

For me, there were several highlights. First and foremost, my son was having a great time, and everyone thought he looked adorable in his costume. Just seeing all the great costumes and being part of that world for the evening was second. Finally, the show was brilliant with acrobatics, can-can dancing, a burlesque (not too racy for the kids, IMO), and an Edwardian jazz band. Next came Rosin Coven, the band that started The Edwardian Ball based on their own multi-media shows, an operatic rendition of The Stupid Joke by Edward Gorey, and a circus performance by the Vau de Vire society.

I cover all that and more in the The Mostly Steampunk Podcast – Episode 4! Watch it here. Also, subscribe to the podcast and like it on YouTube!

Sundry

The editing for Bodacious Creed: a Steampunk Zombie Western is going great! I’ve gotten through about 52,000 words of this draft, and have about 88,000 to go. I keep hoping to be able to do 10,000 words per day, but I am a single dad with a full time job, so I haven’t been able to go that quickly.

Still, it’s coming along great and I expect to have the book published in July or August.

Right now, I’m reading another book by Rayne Hall. (I’ve interviewed her for this blog and reviewed three of her books already.) This book is Writing Short Stories to Promote Your Novels. Subscribers to my newsletter know that I’ve already written one Creedverse short story, The Obstructed Engine, which is a prequel to Bodacious Creed and is meant to introduce readers to this steampunk western world. As I’m reading through the book, I keep running into mentions of past events that would make great stories, so I have a list of five or six ideas already and plan to write a new story for newsletter subscribers soon.

And yes, here’s my newsletter pitch! Subscribe now and read The Obstructed Engine for free. You’ll get an email with the link within a few minutes. All I ask for is your email address. I don’t share these addresses with anyone, and I don’t spam. I send out one email per blog post, and sometimes one per podcast to let subscribers know. Subscribers get to read my Creedverse stories first! So, subscribe right here.

Also, feel free to follow me on Twitter and to comment below.

Featured Posts
Jonathan's Books
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Pinterest App Icon
bottom of page