top of page

Steampunk Maker Spotlight: an Interview with Charles Edward Mason II

Introducing Charles Edward Mason II

Charles Edward Mason in Three Costumes

To put it simply, Charles is a fantastic maker, whether in the steampunk genre or any other.

He was one of the contestants on GSN TV's competition program, Steampunk'd, which brought together ten makers from across the United States to compete for a $100,000 grand prize.

Though Charles did not win, he lasted for most of the competition and showed the world his creativity. While on the program, he embraced taking on team duties that he had never done before, and killed it on many creativions, such as some wonderful paininting work.

It was my pleasure to speak with this interesting and creative gentleman, so enjoy the interview!

The Interview

Jonathan Fesmire: Question one: steam punk introduced your skills and creativity to the world. For those still unfamiliar with you, please introduce yourself.

Gingerbread Train

Charles Edward Mason II: My name is Charles Edward Mason II. I am the firstborn of eight children. I grew up in Canoga Park California, just 30 minutes from Hollywood where my love for movies and makeup special effects grew. When I was 22 I started working for Screaming Mad George, known for the special effects in the movie Big Trouble in Little China. Then I moved on to working with Mike McGee at Alex in Wonderland. This is where I grew my handcrafted ideas to a whole new level. But I wanted to move out of state, somewhere more green and colder like Portland Oregon. I begin my late 20s going into a new career as a pastry chef. I attended Le Cordon Bleu College. During the past 10 years I had used my craft into edible works of art, reformulating cakes and gingerbread formulas into elaborate visual and stimulating pieces of food. But it doesn't fill my heart like creating steampunk designs.

JF: Wow, that’s quite a history! What were your interests as a child? Did those interest lead you to steampunk? And how long have you been a steampunk maker?

CEM: My interest growing up was comic books, drawing, football, and playing outside. I am a child of the 80s, watching A-Team and MacGyver. I have a love for making things with my hands, not necessarily machines. Growing up poor you learn to use whatever you have around your environment to make do. I believe this is where my steampunk interest began. Back in 2010 is where my steampunk bug started to manifest. So I would say I have been amplifying my style of steampunk for six years.

JF: Your gadgets and outfits tend to be quite layered and detailed. How much work goes into each piece and at what point do you say this piece is done?

CEM: I worked with my father as an auto detailer most of my life. He was a detail-oriented man when it came to cleaning cars for Hollywood's top elite. I guess that's where I got it from. Detailed layers have a story is what I believe in, showing the human race how I can take a simple object and transform it into and elaborate fluid work of creativity. I prefer to shock the public with my craftsmanship rather then twinkling lights. When I create from the ether of my mind it takes real thought. Sometimes it's a few weeks or months. Original ideas are the foundation of my steampunk art. Keeping it classy is important because you can easily add too many objects. Something just goes off in my head and tells me, "we are good."

JF: How did you get your place on Steampunk'd? What was the selection process like?

CEM: One day I received an email from a friend telling me about a new TV show in the works about steampunk. So I looked into this and applied. Not 24 hours had gone by when I received a callback that they were very interested in me. I believe it's my original ideas that sold them plus my confidence in my ability.

JF: Of the many amazing people in the steampunk movement, who are some of your major influences?

JF: What are your favorite materials to work with, and what would you say is my major area of expertise?

CEM: This world has provided me with all kinds of materials, but recycled and EVA foam are my favorites. And by me using these over and over I have mastered them both.

JF: What do you like most about being a maker?

CEM: When I first started developing my character six years ago I didn't have a proper direction. I studied steampunk lifestyles for months seeing different characters which aren't arms, traditional looks, and crazy top hats with gadgets. But then it hit me build an original appearance based on my personality, and the rest is history.

JF: Even when we're doing what we love most there, are aspects that can get on our nerves. What's your least favorite aspect of being a maker?

CEM: My least favorite aspect is not making enough money doing this full time. I'm trying to live a happy life with my family but there's not enough people buying my handcrafted original designs. That's the big downfall.

JF: As an independent author, I get the frustration. When not creating, how do you take it easy?

CEM: My wife and son are my joys in life. Cooking for them, reading to my son, and being with them is all I need to be happy.

JF: Do you have an original steampunk character that you like to cosplay, and can tell us about him?

Krank Shaft

CEM: Yes, I only create original characters. One of them is from my heart and soul. His name is Krank Shaft, The Steampunk Weapons Engineer. He is a reflection of who I am. Krank Shaft has lived a hard life of his mother abandoning him leaving him to fend and learn for himself, keeping his mind busy creating armor and gadgets so that he doesn't lose his peaceful ways. Krank likes working alone but when you call upon him he is ready to assist.

JF: Dang, I love that. From your Facebook posts, it looks like your family is really into the movement, too. Would it be fair to call you a steampunk family?

CEM: No, I wouldn't go that far. My wife supports my art but she isn't into the steampunk movement. But my sister-in-law loves to assist me in going to cons or photo shoots. I consider her my first female steampunk model. Once my son is a little older he would love to join the group.

JF: I’ve been interested in your work for a while, so thank you for taking the time for this interview!

CEM: I want to thank you very much for give me this opportunity to tell you my side of the story, who I am and what I have created in this life. I'm just trying to leave my mark on this planet to say I was here and that my art moved hearts and minds of the steampunk community.

Charles Edward Mason II Online

If you enjoy Charles's marvelous designs, check out his website, Lord Mason's Extraordinary Designs, for products, a gallery, and more.

You can also find him on Facebook.

As always, feel free to comment, subscribe to The Mostly Steampunk Newsletter for free steampunk stories and more, or to visit me on any of my social media sites, and thanks for reading.

Featured Posts
Jonathan's Books
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Pinterest App Icon
bottom of page