top of page

Bodacious & Sundry #22: Cosplay by McCall’s Introduces “The Belles”

Bodacious

Today, I’m back with more lovely patterns from Cosplay by McCall’s! Did I write “lovely?” These go way beyond that. These dresses are simply gorgeous.

Allow me to introduce “The Belles,” Belle Rogue and Belle Noir, the two newest additions to the Cosplay by McCall’s Brand Collection. These two versatile Victorian dress patterns were designed for McCall’s by designer Ichigo Black.

One nice aspect of these two patterns is how easily an experienced tailor or seamstress can combine pieces from each into a unique look.

Belle Rogue

The Belle Rogue pattern features snug, lined corset top with detachable bows and lacing, a pull-on lined skirt, a detachable fabric train, a hair bow with a clasp, and pull-on cuffs. The instructions help with boning, various types of trim, and more. Whenever a McCall’s pattern uses a fabric you may not be familiar with, it has specific instructions for how to work with it. The Belle Rogue pattern gives solid tips for working with Tulle, such as using pattern weights, a rotary cutter, a thin needle, and more. It also provides help for creating the alternating color pattern on the corset. This is considered an advanced pattern, so be sure to work carefully and follow the old adage: measure twice, cut once.

Belle Noir

I am a sucker for a dark, mysterious woman, so I have to say that this black dress really caught my eye. Of course, you can sew either of these patterns with any color of appropriate fabric, and it would be interesting to see this in, say, purple, an off-white cream color, or crimson.

Belle Noir features a lined top with a neckband, detached sleeves, a fitted overskirt with pleating and a boned front, a skirt, and an interfaced fascinator. The pattern provides helpful tips for sewing with sheer fabric, which is delicate, slippery, and can bunch up while sewing. The tips on bows and trip explain how these parts can be attached just about anywhere on the outfit, depending on your style choices.

Cosplay by McCall’s continues to impress me with its options! While I never learned to sew well, I’ve always loved costuming and I look forward to what they have to offer next. Meanwhile, ladies, if you have a convention coming up and want to add an amazing dress to your steampunk cosplay collection, pick up one or both of these! They would certainly look amazing at any event and would be great for dance or concert night.

To my readers, if you have made any outfits from Cosplay by McCall’s patterns, feel free to contact me and share pictures. I’d be happy to share them in the blog!

Sundry

I have several alpha readers enjoying Bodacious Creed: a Steampunk Zombie Western as I continue getting through the second draft of the novel. One, my uncle John Perry, has extensive knowledge on the Wild West and on guns.

In the book, the main character, Bodacious Creed himself, has a sixteen-shooter that is also a revolver. How is that possible? I admit it, I didn’t know when I came up with the idea, but I liked it as something different for a steampunk world that would still have that Wild West look and feel. I imagined that each cylinder was a cartridge that could be popped in, and old cartridges could be reloaded. Each would have some system by which the bullets would shift into place. Yes, I am a 3D modeler, but I’m not a product designer and certainly not a gunsmith.

Fortunately, Uncle John does have gunsmith training, and he came up with a system that could work! I’m not going to give away how here. So, where can you learn about this steampunk design?

He and my cousin, Rita, are working on schematics, which I’m going to make available for free to newsletter subscribers! Once done, it’ll send the link to it immediately to all my current subscribers, and new subscribers will also be able to download it after signing up.

So hey, why not do so now and start with my free steampunk western story, The Obstructed Engine.

Featured Posts
Jonathan's Books
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Pinterest App Icon
bottom of page