top of page

Weekly Steampunk Update #2

This week, I have four curated stories for your enjoyment, showing how steampunk is making its way into various areas of culture. And why wouldn’t it? The steampunk aesthetic combines elegance and artistry with strength. That’s part of why I love steampunk. What about you? Feel free to comment on any of these stories below.

This Week’s Stories

Steampunk “Beauty and the Beast”

Severna Park middle school in Severna Park, Maryland, is performing Beauty and the Beast with a steampunk aesthetic. I admire the dedication students and parent volunteers are putting into this production, and we’re talking a cast of 62 students and 20 or more adults working backstage on costuming, lighting, and more. In an age when the arts are facing potential cuts, it’s refreshing to see this kind of work done for a musical production at the middle school level.

New Zealand’s Steampunk Town

Someday, I’ll go to New Zealand and visit Oamaru! Filled with Victorian architecture, this farming town also has a large population of steampunk fans. In part, this is thanks to Weta Workshop, the world-renowned effects company that worked on Lord of the Rings and more, donated steampunk statues and artwork to an show taking place in Oamaru. Since then, residents have become part of our growing culture. There’s much more in the article, including a brief introduction to steampunk for newbies.

Samsung Pocket Watches

I’m a big fan of pocket watches, and have bought many off eBay, found free deals for them, and have worn them with cosplay and just because. I also like Samsung products. In fact, I just switched to a Galaxy S7 and chose the gold look rather than black, because it’s more steampunk. Anyway, Samsung has Gear 3 pocket watches right now, and you may want to pick one up, as they might not last long.

A Clockwork Pie

You’ve heard of A Clockwork Orange (and hopefully understand the point of the story, that man is not meant to be programmed like a clock). Well, a clockwork cherry pie is a different thing entirely! We’re talking a cherry pie with the upper crust designed to look like the internal workings of a clock. This would make an awesome dessert for any steampunk-themed party. The must-see video will show you how to make one yourself.

The Wild Steampunk Update

Just a few things to share here. I have two new Cosplay by McCall’s patterns to review, and will get to that in the next few days.

To all my new Patreon supporters, thank you! I’m planning on adding art and more for patrons only. Basically, at each new level, you would get to see more. Also, the more people contribute, the more I’ll be able to do. Check out my Patreon here.

I mentioned getting a new Samsung above. Right now, Costco is having a deal for new Verizon customers who sign up through them: get $275 in Coscto credit plus a Samsung 360 degree camera to go with your phone when you switch to Verizon and get a Samsung Galaxy S7. They’re not paying me to say this (though I wish they were!), I’m just excited about it. The upshot here is that, with my 360 camera, I may be able to create some new video content for YouTube soon.

That’s all for today! As always, feel free to comment below, and if you want to get updates and free fiction, sign up for The Wild Steampunk Newsletter below.

Featured Posts
Jonathan's Books
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Pinterest App Icon
bottom of page