top of page

Bodacious & Sundry #17: DeepArt Turns Photos into Masterpieces

Bodacious

For the last week, I’ve been having fun turning some of my photos into pieces of art with the site DeepArt.io. I’ve mostly submitted my own steampunk related photographs, such as the hats and goggles I have resting on a book shelf, a photo of my son in his steampunk outfit, and a few images of me. Check them out in this slideshow!

So, how does DeepArt do this? Well, I'm not completely sure. It takes a source image and a style image and uses them to create an artistic rendition of the source. If you want to try it, go to the site, and look at some of the recent images. Click on one, then choose to use it as your style image. Next, upload the photograph that you want to turn into art, submit it, and don't think about it for a while. It usually takes awhile to finish. My first images took sixteen hours! It just depends on how long the queue is.

You can pay to have it finished in fifteen minutes, if you like. When it's done, you can download the low resolution version for free, or pay quite a bit to download a high resolution version.

I did create one that I thought looked good enough for a print. Instead of paying for the high resolution version, though, I put the small version through a Photoshop art filter, posted it to deviantArt, and ordered a 30x30 print, which I plan to have in the background for The Mostly Steampunk Podcast.

Here's how it came out.

Jonathan Fesmire, Steampunk Author: Artistic Rendition

Whether you want to create art images or any other style, just check the site out. DeepArt is a lot of fun.

Sundry

Okay, first, I can hardly believe I'm already on Bodacious & Sundry #17! Thinking back, yeah, I have done a bunch of these posts, but I felt surprised when I looked at my blog tonight and saw that the last one was #16.

My Steampunk Glasses

So, got my steampunk glasses from My Willows! The owner, Sasha, does beautiful work. I love this style. When they arrived, I went to LensCrafters, got a new eye exam, and had them make these reading glasses. That way, I can wear them on the podcast, look all steampunk-cool, and easily read what's on my screen.

Something happened though. These came with a crystal on each chain, and one of the crystals broke. I don't even know what happened. I just looked at them and noticed. That got me thinking. The dangling crystals do look a bit girly. I didn't want to admit it at first, but they do, so I asked Sasha what she could do.

She responded and said that she could replace the two chains with one single chain going all the way around. After that, I figured out that I could link the chains in the back to get a preview of how that would look. In a word, masculine. That's the style I need. So, I paid her the difference (the silver chains are silver-plated, and the new one will be longer than the other two combined), and just sent these off to her today. She said she'd fix them as soon as they came and send them back, so hopefully sometime next week, I'll get to start wearing them on the podcast.

The Podcast

I plan to do The Mostly Steampunk Podcast Episode 6 soon, maybe tomorrow. If you missed Episode 5, click over and enjoy! In it, I talk about The Steampunk Tarot by Barbara Moore. In Episode 6, I plan to share Tesla Cards Against the World, Hullabaloo, and more.

Please, click over and subscribe!

Meanwhile, sign up for The Mostly Steampunk Newsletter for an exciting prequel short story to my upcoming novel, Bodacious Creed: a Steampunk Zombie Western, plus blog and podcast updates. And feel free to comment below!

Featured Posts
Jonathan's Books
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Pinterest App Icon
bottom of page